Were you charged with a DUI in Georgia? Check out these 6 things to learn about your DUI charge, then contact our attorneys to get started.
1) Losing your Job
A huge consideration for many clients who are charged with DUI is whether they can actually lose their job as a result of the charge. In Georgia, there is no automatic requirement that someone is terminated from their employment because they’re simply charged with driving under the influence. That is a case-by-case basis, and it is solely up to the employer as to whether you would be dismissed for that particular offense. Every case is unique. Every case is different. There may be things that we can do for you to get your DUI charge reduced or changed in a manner that will not affect your employment if your employer is one of those who would terminate based on that.
2) Losing your License
In Georgia, if you’re charged with DUI, there is an administrative suspension that can take place and a state court suspension that can take place. There are certain deadlines that you need to meet to appeal the administrative suspension. You can avoid the suspension of your license in certain circumstances if the objections are filed timely. If you choose to hire an attorney after receiving a DUI charge in Georgia, it’s important that you get one immediately.
3) Taking a Breathalyzer Test
In Georgia, if you are charged with DUI, an officer will ask you whether you want to submit to different testing – blood, breath, or urine testing. It is advisable to comply with the officer’s request. If you do not comply, then your license can be administratively suspended. What you can do, in addition to compliance with the officer’s request, is to get independent testing. You’re allowed to do that, and we would advise you to get a blood test independent of whatever testing the officer did.
4) Going to Jail
A real concern for clients who are charged with a DUI is whether or not there could be any jail time involved in the resolution of their case. In Georgia, you can be punished by up to one year in jail, with a thousand dollar fine, plus community service and some other aspects of the sentence that are required. If it is a first-time DUI, as a rule, if there’s no accident or no injury involved in the DUI, you will not serve time in jail. If, however, you’re in a situation where you have multiple charges, there may be a stronger consideration for going to jail.
5) Timeline for a DUI Case
There really is no typical time for a DUI. Every case is different. If it is one that doesn’t require motions to suppress or other complicated litigation, you should be able to have your DUI resolved anywhere from three to six months.
6) Cost of a DUI Attorney
The cost can vary depending on the exact situation, but, in general, a DUI will cost anywhere between $2,500 and $3,000. But, every case is different.
Are you or a loved one in the process of a DUI case in Statesboro, Springfield, or Swainsboro and have questions? After reading our 6 things to learn about your DUI charge, contact the experienced Georgia DUI attorneys at Hall & Navarro today for a consultation and case evaluation.
We can help get your life back on track.
Like Us on Facebook